Five Seminoles named to award watch lists

Marsha Scott
July 11, 2017

The last three players to win the Heisman Trophy have also claimed the Maxwell Award. No. 2 Ohio State on November 19, scoring on the second play from scrimmage against the Buckeyes on a career-long 64-yard TD reception and also recorded a career-long rush with a 61-yard scamper in the first quarter. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to the National Player of the Year since 1937.

The Bednarik Award was first presented in 1995 and goes annually to the nation's top defensive player.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. After one season, he ranks first on the Carolina list for career completion percentage at 65.8 (125-for-190) while throwing for 1,420 yards and nine touchdowns.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be presented on December 7 as part of a made-for-television postseason awards show. He led the team in tackles five times in 2015, including a career-high 14 against Houston in the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl.

More news: Jammu-Kashmir police bust Lashkar-e-Taiba module, arrest Muzaffarnagar resident
More news: North Korea calls United States bomber practice a 'dangerous move'
More news: Tour de France 2017: Froome takes control as Porte, Thomas crash out

College football preseason award watch list season has been underway since May, but these next two weeks are when it really hits its stride. Barkley led the Big Ten and was fifth in the FBS in total touchdowns (22) and was tops in the conference and 21st nationally in all-purpose yards (140.86 ypg).

Bednarik, who played at Penn and then with the Philadelphia Eagles, is in both the College Football and the NFL Halls of Fame. Morgan started four games that fall but did not make a start in 2015. Alabama's Jonathan Allen won the Bednarik last season as part of his dominating awards haul, while Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson took home the Maxwell last season.

Kiser (Baltimore, Md.) was a Football Writers Association of America second-team All-American in 2016 after finishing No. 1 in the ACC and No. 4 in the nation with 11.2 tackles per game. He also rushed for 139 yards against No. 2 MI on October 29, the most by a player against the Wolverines during the regular season. An All-Big 12 Second Team honoree by, White finished with 58 tackles, including 48 solo stops, seven tackles for loss and two forced fumbles. For his career, Cabinda has 198 tackles, eight pass breakups, 3.5 sacks and 10.0 tackles for loss.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article