Mithali, Rajeshwari take India to semis

Calvin Saunders
July 16, 2017

Mithali, who on Saturday became the first Indian batswoman to notch 1000 World Cup runs, batted cautiously to steady the ship along with all-rounder Harmanpreet as the New Zealand bowlers kept testing the Indians with some tight line and length. I felt that somewhere if I had few more batters to support me, maybe my game would have been much better. Just a few weeks ago in South Africa, Mithali's long-time team-mate and medium pacer, Jhulan Goswami, had become the highest wicket-taker in women's ODIs.

Mithali Raj registered her sixth ODI hundred in India's convincing victory.

An excellent display of off-spin bowling filled with the riches of flight, loop, turn, bounce earned her a five-for and India a spot in the semis.

These two stalwarts have held up women's cricket in India for nearly two decades now, have been runners up at the tournament in 2005 and have come to England with a team best prepared to make a charge in the knockouts. If the captain and her deputy ensured against another batting collapse with their responsible batting in the 132-run stand, it was Veda's berserk 70 in a 108-run partnership with Raj that gave India an above-par total on the slow track.

Amy Satterwaite top scored for the White Ferns.

More news: Disney Officially Casts Live-Action Aladdin, Jasmine & Genie
More news: One Baylor football player selected to preseason Big 12 defensive squad
More news: Trump Budget Would Shrink Deficits by One-Third by 2027, CBO Says

The 34-year-old cricketer started her global career in 1999 with a match against Ireland. Suzie Bates' decision to put India in to bat first was justified by Lea Tahuhu and Hannah Rowe as they dismissed Punam Raut (4) and Smriti Mandhana (13) respectively.

IST: New Zealand start with a Maiden!

There are too many records against her name. We have seen a lot of match winning performances in this event as usual.

The first semi-final will be held on 18th July in which the teams in the first and fourth place will battle for a seat in the finals whereas second and third placed teams will play against each other in the second semi-final which will be held on 20th July.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article