BJP sweeps Mira-Bhayander municipal polls, continuing Maharashtra victory run

Marsha Scott
August 22, 2017

The Bharatiya Janta Party won 61 out of the 95 seats in the Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation Elections.

The victory is significant for the ruling BJP in Maharashtra since it chose to contest the civic polls on its own in keeping with its strategy for municipal and zilla parishad (district councils) elections held earlier this year. As per the Indian Express report, the Congress had secured one seat unopposed and hence the polls were held only for the 94 seats on Sunday. The Shiv Sena was second with 22, while the Congress won 10.

The residents of Mira-Bhayandar had yesterday dared heavy rains to come out and vote for 94 of 95 of seats of the civic body. The Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party, however, did not win a single seat.

Immediately after the results, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said: "MBMC election victory is because of wave of "Vishwas & Vikas" (Trust and Progress) created by PM Narendra Modiji and Team BJP's efforts!" And with 22 seats, Shiv Sena will be the main Opposition party in MBMC.

BJP's Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar was more direct in his attack on the Shiv Sena, saying that poll after poll in the state are a demonstration of the BJP's rise and they showed the real power of "those who have illusions about their strength".

More news: New polls: Trump's approval down in key election states
More news: Six Police Officers Shot, One Fatally, In String Of Shootings
More news: Trump Undecided On Committing More US Troops To Afghanistan

It was a landslide victory for the BJP in an election that was touted to be a four-way fight. "Like the Marathas rose after the Panipat loss, Shiv Sena will also rise once again", he said. Two seats have been secured by independent candidates.

BJP had fielded 90 candidates while its ally RPI (Athawale group) had put four candidates.

The polls recorded a 47 per cent turnout. Moreover, Shiv Sena has fielded candidates in all the seats, Congress in 75 and NCP in 67. With this election, Congress leader Muzaffar Hussain and NCP strongman Gilbert Mendosa's rule has finally come to an end in the MBMC.

Out of the nine civic corporations in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region, Sena-BJP combine rules the Kalyan civic body.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article