Brian Dawkins Is A Semifinalist For The Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Calvin Saunders
November 23, 2017

Atwater, Lynch and Mecklenburg are all members of the Broncos' Ring of Fame, and all five who were named semifinalists this year were also semifinalists last year, along with Terrell Davis, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. Twenty-seven modern-era semifinalists (from an initial pool of 108) have moved on to the next round of the selection process, with a cut-down to 15 finalists coming in January, followed by the selection of the gold-jacket recipients. Fifteen years later, they could again share the NFL's brightest stage, earning the game's greatest individual honor at the same time.

With his ability to not only rush at a high level, but block and catch as well, James was one of the most versatile and dynamic running backs in all of football for his 11 NFL seasons. Both were on the list of finalists previous year, but did not make the 2017 class to the dismay of Eagles fans.

Edgerrin James #32 of the Indianapolis Colts watches from the bench during an NFL football game against the Miami Dolphins played on December 5, 1999 at Pro Player Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.

More news: Apple acquires AR headset market Vrvana
More news: Lawmaker, attorney for woman with F-Trump sticker to discuss case
More news: Second woman accuses Sen. Franken of sexual harassment

Four previously eligible players made the semifinals for the first time: LeRoy Butler, Leslie O'Neal, Simeon Rice and Everson Walls.

Barber was another element to Tampa Bay's success during his 16-year career with the Buccaneers. Barber is the only player in league history to record at least 45 interceptions and at least 25 sacks. His 15,934 career receiving yards rank second in history. He was the NFL's best pass-rusher for a sustained period, almost a decade, as he led the league with 101.5 sacks from 1998 to 2005. He was named to five Pro Bowls and twice was First-Team All-Pro.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article