ICC Awards: Virat Kohli named the Cricketer of the Year 2017

Hope Soto
January 19, 2018

The 25-year-old SA wicketkeeper is one one four players to feature in both teams - the other three being India captain Virat Kohli, who is also named skipper of both sides, Australia's David Warner and Ben Stokes of England.

Kohli is the now the second-ranked batsman in Tests, only behind Smith.

Hasan's 3 for 19 played a vital role in Pakistan's Champions Trophy win against India. The record of the star cricketer was great, as evidenced by the parameters through which the recipient of the award is selected, that is looking at his performance between, September 21, 2016 to December 31, 2017, Virat scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80. "King" Kohli, as he's famously called, had made 2017 his own by piling on match-winning hundreds.

He was also named the captain of both the ICC Test and One-Day International teams of the year. It's probably the biggest award we have in world cricket and two Indians getting it back to back making more special. "I want to congratulate all the other winners also". Only 29 years old, he hit his 32nd century recently, going past Ricky Ponting's tally and moving ever closer to Sachin Tendulkar's.

This is the second time that Kohli has won the ICC player of the year award.

More news: South Korea Sways Cryptocurrency Prices - But How?
More news: Anantkumar Hegde apologises, says Constitution is supreme, can't go against it
More news: Walmart Joins Fight Against Opioid Abuse With Free Disposal Kits

According to the ICC report, Khan took 60 wickets in 2017 alone - a record for an Associate player in a calendar - and 43 in ODIs - another record for a player from outside the Full Member nations - making him a thoroughly deserved victor of the Associate Cricketer of the Year award.

"I am really honoured and happy to get the ICC award". No Black Caps were named in the test team of the year. "I feel very proud".

Yazuvendra Chahal took the honours of being the man behind the performance of the year 2017.

Dean Elgar, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada were all named in the ICC Test team of the year and De Kock and AB de Villiers were named in the ICC ODI team of the year.

England captain Joe Root is third in the list with 881 points followed by New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who has 855 points.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article