Vikings Legend Randy Moss Inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame

Hope Soto
February 6, 2018

Lewis and Urlacher helped define the middle linebacker position in their era.

Tom Brady and Randy Moss celebrate during the 2007 National Football League season. This was Moss' first year on the Hall of Fame ballot and he is the first wide receiver to get voted in during his first year of eligibility since Jerry Rice in 2010. Safety Brian Dawkins also received at least 80 percent support from the 47 Hall of Fame voters, along with contributor Bobby Beathard and senior nominees Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile.

Dawkins and Owens aren't the first to be inducted into the Hall of Fame the same year their team played in the Super Bowl.

"There were 10 times I was waiting for a knock on the door that didn't come, so there wasn't a great deal of confidence that it was going to happen this time", Kramer said. "Make me busy. And they can call me - I'll get back to the room in proper time.' So I just tried to stay busy on that day".

"All the emotions just caught the best of me because it's really been a long journey", Moss said.

"I hope Vikings fans know I'm still here and I'm still No. 84, " he said.

More news: CHAN 2018 final: Morocco, Nigeria began February 4 assemblage
More news: Man City drop points at Burnley
More news: Premier League clubs spend a record $829m in January transfer window

Lewis was a 13-time Pro Bowler, made 7 All-Pro Teams, was named Defensive Player of the Year twice and won 2 Super Bowls.

Moss was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday in his first time on the ballot. His speed and athleticism made him the games most risky big-play threat and led to the phrase "You got Mossed" for embarrassed defensive backs.

Moss hauled in 23 touchdown receptions that season, which is still an National Football League record. He finished his career with 982 catches for 15,292 yards and ranks second all-time with 156 TD receptions. But he somehow worked and rehabbed enough to join the Eagles in the Super Bowl against the New England Patriots, just six weeks after suffering the injury. His 10 seasons of at least 1,000 receiving yards are second only to Rice, as are his 64 100-yard games.

Another finalist this year who spent some time with the Chiefs was cornerback Ty Law, who played for the team from 2006 to 2007.

"I think the best thing I can say about Brian is, he treated everybody in that organization, from the quarterback all the way down to the ticket guy, the exact same", Olsen said.

Lewis had legal problems off the field. Each played for five teams in his career. Though it wasn't the end of Owen's NFL career, as he would go on to play five more seasons in the league, three in Dallas, one in Buffalo and one incredibly unusual season in Cincinnati, he never quite regained his Philly former and retired without an ever-elusive Super Bowl ring. By his fourth season he had become the face of the Eagles defense, playing 183 games over his 13 years with the team.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article