Bihar By-polls election results: RJD Wins the Jehanabad Assembly constituency

Marsha Scott
March 15, 2018

Phulpur, once represented by the country's first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha election when Maurya won the seat.

The bypoll for Araria seat was necessitated following the death of RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin.

Let us tell you that in this tired of the Arriya Lok Sabha by-election, there is a direct fight between BJP Pradip Singh and RJD's Sarfaraz Alam.

In the results announced for two Assembly seats and Lok Sabha seat, both Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have won a seat each in Bihar bypolls.

For the BJP, the election is a prestige issue for chief minister Yogi Adityanath who represented the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat five times in a row till he took over as chief minister in 2017. In 2014, the RJD candidate bagged 41.86 per cent vote. "Tejashwi has done little to create his own vote bank", said senior BJP leader Ashok Kumar Sinha said.

Despite elaborate campaigns by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar of JD (U), deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi of BJP and other senior NDA leaders, RJD's Sarfaraz Alam beat his nearest rival Pradip Kumar Singh of BJP in Muslim-dominated Araria by a margin of 61,778 votes.

In Phulpur, SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel was leading by 47,351 votes over BJP's Kaushalendra Singh Patel after 28 rounds of counting, they added.

More news: Trump lands in San Diego to view wall prototypes
More news: Lonzo Ball praises Julius Randle as Lakers' 'enforcer'
More news: Tiger Woods gives NBC massive ratings boost for Valspar

The results are expected to be declared by afternoon.

The RJD fielded Sarfaraz Alam - son of Taslimuddin and a legislator of the ruling JD-U. Both are considered traditional RJD supporters.

The Araria Lok Sabha constituency came into being in 1967. Congress candidate Sureetha Kareem polled 18,844 votes.

Sukhdeo Paswan was elected as the MP from Araria.

The fate of the third parliamentary seat being called today is Araria in Bihar, where too the BJP is trailing, this time behind Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD.

RJD's Kumar Krushna Mohan alias Suday Yadav won the Jehanabad Assembly seat by beating JD (U) candidate and former MLA Abhiram Sharma by a margin of 35,036 votes.

Tejashwi remained humble as he tweeted that "a win or loss is part of the electoral game" but did take pot shots at the BJP.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article