Naresh Agarwal's departure is SP's gain: Mulayam

Marsha Scott
March 15, 2018

A day after Samajwadi Party rebel Naresh Agrawal made snide remarks against actor and Rajya Sabha member Jaya Bachchan, he expressed regret for his comments. "I am also impressed by PM Modi, Amit Shah and UP CM Yogi".

"I am a stubborn lady, I will not answer", she said while talking to media persons.

"I have been compared with those who dance and work in films", said Mr Agrawal, referring to Jaya Bachchan. The Shivpal Yadav camp was likely to break ranks with the Opposition by backing the saffron party, an SP leader said on Tuesday.

Expressing his regret, Agarwal said that he didn't intend to hurt anyone and he's taking his words back if it did so.

Even senior BJP leaders like external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and party spokesperson Sambit Patra have distanced themselves from Agarwal's comment.

Yadav also demanded the BJP to take immediate and strict action against Agrawal for his remark, if the party respects women. He said,"Dancers and film actors were preferred over him for the nominations for the upper house of Parliament. He is welcome. However, his comments regarding Jaya Bachhan ji are improper and unacceptable", Swaraj tweeted.

More news: Bihar By-polls election results: RJD Wins the Jehanabad Assembly constituency
More news: Tom Brady takes in the city with Gisele and kids
More news: Stormy Daniels Offers To Pay Back $130000 So She Can Talk Trump

Naresh Agrawal lost that race to Jaya Bachchan and stomped out of his party of two decades to join the BJP.

Agarwal's decline within the SP started after he organised a party at a Delhi five-star hotel in July past year. This is an insult to all women in the country along with the Bollywood fraternity.

Naresh Agarwal is not the first Samajwadi Party leader to head to BJP.

Naresh Agrawal, who has also had a stint in the Congress, is not new to controversy.

Before going to Assembly, BJP's Rajya Sabha candidates reached BJP Headquarters and garlanded the statues of Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay, Kushabhau Thakre and Rajmata Scindia.

Naresh Agrawal's term as Rajya Sabha member ends on April 2.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article