New Gmail update will include self-destructing emails

Laverne Mann
April 15, 2018

Earlier this week, we reported that Google was about to give Gmail a well-needed facelift. That means there will still be a record of users sending and receiving self-destructing emails, but not necessarily any info on what was contained in the message.

Yes, but not in the way you think. This passcode will be generated via SMS and there will also be an expiration date on sent emails. However, there is one big concern surrounding the new feature which is - although Google does not allow printing, copying, or pasting of the email content there are no measures whatsoever to prevent the receiver from screenshotting the email. The new design is said to also come with a feature that would ensure only the recipient can view an e-mail and that too for a specific period of time. Also, on the recipient end, Gmail will show the content of confidential emails as a link which will verify a user's identity before showing the email content.

For those of us who can't deal with the onslaught of messages in our inbox but really need to keep in mind to reply to a certain message, Google should be offering some help in the form of a snooze button. Apparently, the new self-destructing emails feature which will allow the users to put a timestamp to their mails after which the email won't be available anymore has been termed as the "Confidential Mode" in Gmail. Recipients will then receive an e-mail that requires them to click a link and input their Google credentials to view the e-mail.

The redesigned Gmail for web users will be available in the coming weeks.

More news: Kenya wins only medal in boxing at the Commonwealth Games
More news: Pep: 'Absolutely amazing' Man City back stronger next season
More news: Cardi B smashes Taylor Swift's Apple Music streaming record

"Google has been making determinations about whether to remove criminal information, and this time they got it wrong", she said.

We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase). Further, the person added, "We need a bit more time to compose ourselves, so can't share anything yet-archive this for now, and we'll let you know when it's time to hit send".

Would these features make you feel better about the security of your email account? The sidebar allows you to carry out tasks side by side with your email messages.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER