Phil Mickelson returns to scene of crime as a changed man

Hope Soto
June 18, 2018

"If somebody's offended by that I apologize", Mickelson said after running after his golf ball on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills and hitting it while it was still moving.

Mickelson defended his decision to jog after and then hit his missed bogey putt back towards the hole despite the ball still moving and appearing to be heading off the green. Mickelson walked away with a 9, later changed to a 10, and will now likely hear from the USGA about "conduct unbecoming", and is probably going to be disqualified. I mean, you want to always use them in your favour.

After the third-round conditions prompted complaints from some of the world's best players, Open officials promised to make things easier at Shinnecock Hills for the final round.

Phil Mickelson had an enjoyable start to his third round Saturday, as the gallery at the first tee sang "Happy Birthday" to celebrate Mickelson turning 48.

"I just didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over, " he said.

"That's where we clarified that, 'Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule'".

More news: Federal Bureau of Investigation agent who wanted to "stop" Trump has really just helped him
More news: Russia smashes Saudi Arabia in World Cup opener
More news: Azerbaijan celebrates Eid al-Fitr

The action by Mickelson was reminiscent of a similar incident at the 1999 U.S. Open at Pinehurst involving John Daly.

Mickelson's playing partner Andrew Johnston, who also struggled, told BBC Radio 5 Live: "His body acted quicker than his brain".

There was some question as to whether the USGA could disqualify Mickelson under Rule 1-2, which outlaws playing a moving ball to gain a "signifiant advantage".

'That's absolutely awesome, that's Phil basically giving up and saying, "No more",' David Fay, a former executive director of the United States Golf Association, said on American television. I took the 2-shot penalty and moved on.

Asked if people would find his actions on No. 13 disrespectful, Mickelson said: "It's meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can". His reaction to saving par at the par 4 on Sunday isn't going to get him back in anyone's good graces. "It's a two-shot penalty". I just didn't think well enough.

"If somebody is offended by that, I apologize to them but toughen up". It's something you might see at your home course with your mates or something.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER