Clinical India humiliate Ireland by 143 runs for biggest T20 win

Hope Soto
June 30, 2018

While the first half of the match offered great entertainment with Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan going hammer and tongs, the second innings proved to be rather tiresome with the hosts managing just 132 in reply to India's 208.

With a set opening combination in Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma, and Kohli at No.3, Lokesh Rahul seems a likely starter for the No.4 spot in the absence of Ajinkya Rahane. KL Rahul and Dinesh Karthik took their place in the side. With Jasprit Bumrah injuring his thumb during the first T20I, Kohli might be tempted to give the pacer a rest and bring in either Umesh or uncapped Siddharth Kaul.

Wrist-spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav will operate in tandem at the expense of young and talented Washington Sundar as Kohli would want his wreckers-in-chief to get a taste of the conditions early in the tour.

For India, there were wholesale changes in the pace bowling department.

Ireland will return to action in August when they host Afghanistan in three T20Is and three ODIs in August, with India now off to Old Trafford for Tuesday's first Twenty20 global against England, live on Sky Sports Cricket (channel 404) and Sky Sports Main Event (401) from 5pm.

More news: Actress brings along her boyfriend to Akash Ambani's pre-engagement bash
More news: Marvel Cinematic Universe will soon include two openly LGBTQ characters
More news: Argentina fan who went missing in Kerala found dead

It's a rare occasion when the former Indian skipper had to sit out despite being in the squad. In the first match, India has won against Ireland by 76 runs.

Kaul is also yet to make his T20I debut, while Yadav played his only T20I back in 2012. Despite touring England in 2011 and 2014, this is the Men in Blue's first visit here since 2007 when they played a solitary ODI at Belfast. However, Rohit missed a well-deserved century.

Rahul is expected to walk into the side after his performances in the recently-concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) season with Kings XI Punjab. The match starts at 8:30 PM IST on June 27.

Ireland: Gary Wilson (c & wk), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Kevin O'Brien, William Porterfield, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, James Shannon, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article