Gmail Brings Confidential Emails to Mobile

Laverne Mann
August 21, 2018

Recently, Google's Gmail got a new redesign which made it look pretty different. Starting from today you can send private or confidential messages right from your Android smartphone by using the Gmail app. The Gmail account on Twitter announced the arrival of the feature that lets you put a self-destruct timer of conversations to “protect sensitive information from unauthorized access.”.

The feature is live now in Gmail, so you can check it out. The update also witnessed another magical addition called confidential mode. Here you set the expiry date for the emails and enter a new passcode. The feature has landed for all Android and iOS users, and users don't have to update their application to see this mode since Google is exchanging it on gradually through a server-side update. This is critical that they make sure that the email expires after a certain date and has high security so, no one else can open the email.

Users can also prevent recipients from opening an email before the expiration date.

More news: Tyson Fury vs. Deontay Wilder made official after Fury wins unanimous decision
More news: Antoine Griezmann trolls Real Madrid's Sergio Ramos with 'coronation' image
More news: Billy Joe Saunders pokes fun at Deontay Wilder Nando’s brawl

Confidential Mode was added as part of the new Gmail, which was released earlier this year.

Do share your thoughts and opinions on the new confidential email mode in the comments section below. At first, you can cancel the outgoing message before it's actually sent. The receiver of a message marked confidential, whether it's an attachment or in the body of the email, will not be able to forward, copy, download, or print that content. Recipients who don't use Gmail will have a passcode emailed to them. It's time to lock all personal information emails in a safe place for helping Google to stop cybercrime. That means that Google will have access to personal data i.e. the phone number of the recipient, even without his permission. You will see an option to remove access, just tap on that, and the recipient will no longer be able to access the file.

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER