Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

Hope Soto
December 9, 2018

But Oklahoma quarterback Murray won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback, beating Tagovailoa out for that honor.

The Buckeyes have the distinction of producing the only two-time victor in Archie Griffin. Jackson won the Heisman that season.

Quarterback Angelo Bertelli was the first Heisman victor for the Fighting Irish and won the the trophy in 1943.

However, the Alabama quarterback received a couple of positive signs Thursday as he beat out fellow Heisman finalist Kyler Murray for both the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards given to college football's player of the year. If Murray wins for the Sooners, they'll share the top spot with Notre Dame and the Buckeyes. The last Walter Camp victor to miss out on the Heisman was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o.

More news: Roberto Firmino and Mohamed Salah On Bench - Liverpool Team vs Burnley Confirmed
More news: Police launch coordinated raids on Italian mafia in Europe
More news: Chief financial officer of China's Huawei arrested in Canada

Murray, a 5-foot-10, 195-pound junior from Allen, Texas, won the award in his final year as a college athlete.

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous AP Player of the Year winners from Oklahoma. And only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998. The Oakland Athletics took Murray with the ninth pick in the Major League Baseball draft in June. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores.

Tagovailoa picked up where he left off in the second half of last season's national championship game victory against Georgia to lead the top-ranked Crimson Tide back to the playoff.

As for raw numbers, Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns and just seven interceptions while completing 71 percent of his passes. "All the hard work with my teammates has really paid off".

Other reports by MaliBehiribAe

Discuss This Article